order info     whats-new    order form     reviews      about the author     foreword

Dear John,
We have a gun dealership in South Africa and I received a copy of your first edition from a friend to train my German Wirehair Pointer. Your advice and applications works wonders with the dogs. Can I order 5 new editions from you and would you be so kind to sign one for me?
Drikus Viljoen, South Africa, January 2012

Seriously, John's "Tracking Dogs for Finding Wounded Deer" needs to receive an award recognizing its contribution to hunting/dogs books in America. The content representing his experience with tracking dogs for thirty plus years along with the thoroughness, readability and organization he has put into it is an invaluable working book for the increasing number of hunters being attracted to this area of the sport of deer hunting. The constant testimonials I keep reading  along with my own success firmly shows what new hunters with proper chosen dogs and good (excellent) guidance can accomplish. I have no idea how to go about getting John's book up for award recognition but would hope that someone in this blog's audience would. I will testify any time for the worth of doing it.
Pat Patterson, December 5, 2011

John, I wanted to leave you this message and thank you SO much for writing your blood tracking books (your dog book and Dead On). Both my pup and I have really enjoyed them.
Vince Crawford, Missouri, November 2011

A logical and scientific approach to the issues of both dog training and practical blood tracking is this very thorough and still easy to read book. After nearly 30 years of personal experience and investigating how others adapt tracking to their areas, John Jeanneney has written a book on the subject, Tracking Dogs for Finding Wounded Deer. This book goes in to detail on each dog breed and what to look for in finding the right breed for your area. Chapters 11 and 12 alone are worth the price, even for hunters with no interest in tracking dogs. They detail how not to be fooled about where the deer was hit.
Closing The Distance

The book talked about all aspects of blood trailing game with dogs. The author stated that the miniature dachshund had retained much of his hunting instincts, so I went out and bought one. At first it was just a tool, but now it has just become another very rewarding aspect of hunting for me.
Carney Easter, August 2010

The best—and possibly only—book on the subject is Tracking Dogs for Finding Wounded Deer by John Jeanneney.
David DiBenedetto, Field and Stream, August 2009

For hunters' opinions of the book click here.

John's book Tracking Dogs for Finding Wounded Deer is a must-read for deer hunters whether you train a tracking dog or not. It will, without a doubt, improve your understanding of wounded deer and how to recover them.
Les Davenport, Deer and Deer Hunting December 2008

John Jeanneney has done a truly admirable job of assembling the facts so hunters can develop their own informed opinions. (...) While the author's passion for tracking dogs is obvious, he still manages a nicely balanced overview of the subject's controversial aspects. While he may or may not change the minds of diehard skeptics, anyone who reads this authoritative book will come away better informed. If only all bowhunters would take the time to gather the facts before expressing their opinions...
Don Thomas, Traditional Bowhunter June/July 2008

John, I can't tell you how much I have enjoyed your book. It is a classic. It should be the bible for trackers of wounded game.
Louis Taxiarchis, M.D., Maine, March 2008

John's logical and scientific approach to the issues of both dog training and practical blood tracking is very thorough and still easy to understand and to put into practice. Very, very recommended reading, very entertaining. too.
Dirk Uwe Kern, Stuttgart, Germany, February 2008 www.accuratereloading.com

I would like to say thank you for the wonderful information you have shared in your book.  I have found it very informative and I look forward to using the knowledge to train my lab and other dogs down the road in my hunting adventures in Louisiana and Texas.  Although I started training my lab to trail blood before I knew about your book, it certainly helps to learn from someone with so much knowledge. I have thoroughly enjoyed reading it so far and will more than likely re-read it over time to stay fresh. 
Jared Politz, LA, February 2008

John's book is excellent!  I don't know what more a person could have hoped for. I have just started reading it again, for the third time.  I want to absorb as much of the information and experience as possible. I believe reading this book has made my dog and myself more efficient at tracking than would have been possible after many years of learning by trial and error.
Dave Mundy, February 2008

I am in my first year of tracking, and am pretty severely hooked on it.  I bought your book almost a year ago, and I can't count the number of ways it has helped me with my dog and with tracking in general.  I really don't know how I would have even got my dog started without it. 
Lance Falzone, TX, January 2008

Dear John, Lately I bought your book,  fantastic, it has been very useful for me and my young dachshund. Here in Quebec city, we are few conductors of blood tracking dogs. As I see that you signed my book in French, nice, thanks.
Jacques Dion, September 2007

Thank you VERY much for writing the book! I've only had a half-remembered article, and a bit of hearsay to go on, but NOW I have a great source of information at my finger-tips.
Dave Orchard, August 2007

I just wanted to drop you a note and tell you how much I have enjoyed the book. I could just not put it down and am very glad it was recommended to me. I have already suggested it to a few friends on the merit of its information on blood tracking, even without a dog.
Carey Sutterfield, June 2007

John, Thank you so much for the information.  I appreciate it very much…  I have been reading you book nightly for the past week.  I hope that you never get tired of people telling you what a great book you have written.  It is truly outstanding and thank you so much for your time in effort in sharing your expertise with others!!!
Tom McCormick, February 2007

Tracking Dogs for Finding Wounded Deer deserves a place along side the very best dog training books ever published. I had some small inkling of its quality when I ordered it. Now that it has arrived, I'm blown away by its comprehensiveness, clarity, and practical orientation. My wife and I have dozens of dog training books at home, and yours is easily among the top three or four in quality.
  
You've done a tremendous service over the years. Publication of this book ensures that the value of your work will continue for a very long time. Thanks.

Charles Elk, Executive Director, Kittery Trading Post Outdoor Academy, Kittery, ME; October 2006

Only days after submitting an article about tracking wounded deer I received a book from the US about the same topic.    Its author is John Jeanneney, who has according to the book some 800-recorded deer searches to his credit.    If shear numbers are a measure of a person’s experience than John is the most accomplished tracking expert in the US and probably in the world.    This is despite the fact that a great deal of John’s knowledge is based on European tradition and teachings.    The key to explaining this paradox can be found in the two country’s different hunting cultures and in particularly the huge numbers of deer and hunters in the US.    While hunting regulations differ from state to state, most have a bow hunting season, a black powder season and an open firearm season for the various deer species.    With so many hunters targeting deer it is inevitable that a corresponding percentage of them is wounded.    
   It is at this point where John and his fellow members of “Deer Search Inc.” and “United Blood Trackers” enter the scene.    Both organisations are made up of volunteers and their trained tracking dogs that assist hunters to recover wounded deer and bears that the hunters failed to locate with an initial search.   
   As if the task of training a suitable dog and subsequent searches were not difficult enough the book also eludes to a raft of regulatory obstacles facing blood trackers in different states of the US.    For instance some states prohibit night hunting with lights when some of the best tracking conditions exist after dark.   Other states have outlawed the use of dogs for deer hunting without making provisions for wounded game tracking dogs.    There are also conflicts over the permissible use of firearms to finish off wounded deer during the different hunting seasons that add to the list of bureaucratic inertia that these organisations had, and in some cases still have, to overcome.    To us in New Zealand the above makes astonishing reading to learn how inflexible hunting regulations can get in the way of shortening the suffering of a wounded animal.   It is to the credit of this dedicated band of humanitarians that their work is slowly becoming officially accepted and valued by the authorities and hunters.
   However, for US hunters and for us here in New Zealand the real value of this book lies in the copious practical content and in the fact that this is the first book on blood tracking in the English language.    It alleviates the need to decipher European hunting literature, which contains traditional hunting terms, he origin of which is often shrouded in antiquity.    
  The book I received was the second and much revised edition of a previous one whose 2000 copies sold out in two years.    Even though the book is authored by John Jeanneney it does not take long before one realises that John’s wife, Jolanta contributed a great deal of its contents.    Jolanta not only breeds tracking wirehaired dachshunds, she is also an accomplished tracker in her own right.    
   Although the book largely deals with tracking wounded deer with dogs, there is a lot of information and advice for hunters without dogs, such as a detailed description of the effects of shots to different parts of a deer’ body.    The signs left behind by such wounds and how to interpret these to help with the often-difficult task of a recovery.
   For those hunters who want to take this further and add a dog to their accessory list John offers a thorough guide to understanding of the intricacies of scent, what it is, where it is deposited and how it is affected by atmospheric conditions, terrain, time and the scent of other animals.    In another chapter he discusses the essential tracking tools, general tracking techniques as well as tips for tracking on difficult surfaces such as roads, swamps and watercourses. 
   Chapter three deals with selecting a tracking dog.   Here John gives general guidelines for all breeds, advice on how to pick the right breed for your local tracking/hunting conditions and tips on selecting a puppy.    He discusses the role of genetics on scenting ability, courage, intelligence and working style.    In chapters four, five, six and seven we get an overview of the suitability of dog breeds for tracking work.    From the various hounds to retrievers and the European versatile breeds to such US dogs as curdogs and cowdogs from the Deep South.    He also evaluates terriers, sheep dogs and Norwegian Elkhounds.
   The author gets down to basic and advanced tracking training of dogs and handlers in chapters eight and nine.    For me this is the highlight of this book and really shows the experience he has amassed from years of tracking wounded animals and breeding and training dogs for this work.    It only too true that not every dog is born to track and some have to be motivated before they get the bug.     John draws on a raft to case studies from his own dogs and those of his many contacts in the US and overseas, including Europe to offer practical guidelines on many training problems.    These two chapters contain such a lot of practical advice that one could train and run a good working dog with that material alone.   
   No two hunting situations are alike and the same applies to wounded animals.    John goes to great detail to differentiate wounds made by hunting arrows and firearms.    I have no experience with hunting archery but after reading chapter ten and eleven I can appreciate the distinction between the two “projectiles” as this applies to a tracking for a successful recovery.    This is the first time archery wounds have been discussed in such detail because the sport is largely outlawed in Europe.    Chapter twelve deals with wounded bears and although interesting it has little relevance for us in New Zealand.
   The same applies to the next chapter on politics and the peculiarities of different administrations views on the use of firearms out of season and other obstacles, which we have been largely spared in this country.    
   While a dogs attributes are all nicely contained in one package it was given at birth chapter fourteen makes it clear that this is not so for the handler of a tracking dog.    There is a list of “essential” equipment that would not be out of place in a Cabalas catalogue.    Maybe I still retain a bit of the deer culler’s obsession with hunting light and travelling fast (when we cut the handle of our tooth brushes to save weight) to be a good judge of the adequacy of this chapter.    Or maybe I conveniently overlooked that a lot of the gear John recommends wasn’t even around in those days and had it been we would have probably have used it too.     Just goes to show how nostalgia can creep up on you at the slightest opportunity.
   Chapter fifteen is interesting since it discusses the relationship between the hunter who has wounded a deer and the volunteer tracker who has been called in to assist with its recovery.    This situation is very common in the US but probably rare in this country partly because we do not have such tracking organisations to fall back on but more particularly because in the vastness of our often-impenetrable bush fighting ones way back with a tracker to where it all happened is not really practical.    Most bush hunting is done singly and hunters learn very quickly to be self-sufficient and self-reliant.   If there is a wounded deer to be tracked than the hunter must face this ethical and physical calamity alone.   
   As with our hunting dogs it appears that most members of the US tracking organisations accord their dogs a place within their families.    Chapter 16 gives much practical advice on how to integrate a dog into a household and to socialise it with other dogs, children and livestock.    It is a chapter worth reading for any dog owner regardless of the size, breed or sex of such a new family addition.   
   Apart from dogs of individual enthusiasts it is my guess that in New Zealand hunting guides and large “safari park” outfitters will have the greatest financial incentive to train and use  “professional” tracking dogs.     When clients pay thousands of dollars for a trophy animal they do not want it rotting in the scrub.    They want the trophy photo and the rack to take home.  It is up to the guide to see that this happens.   In chapter seventeen John gives examples of how at Tara Plantation, which is a large commercial deer, hunting operation comprising 27000 acres of Mississippi woodlands, tracking dogs are successfully used to recover deer wounded by Tara clients.    The Tara dogs are all Labs that are owned by the professional guides and live with them as part of their household.   I can see a similar situation developing here around the recreational hunting industry.
   Tracking tests give dog owners a certain measure of how good their dog is and how successful their training programme has been.   Chapter eighteen covers that in great detail.   Most training is done with artificial aids to duplicate as far as possible the real thing.    Test are also largely conducted using similar artificial means in order to ensure that dogs are judged fairly against predetermined standards and against each other.   As long as tests are used to improve the field tracking performance for the canine candidates such tests are beneficial.    Once tests become an end in themselves and become a competitive game with big rewards for dog owners then they lose much of their relevance for wounded deer recovery.
   Chapter nineteen offers answers to common tracking questions while chapter twenty canvasses US regional tracking traditions, which once again shows how different attitudes to blood tracking are in that large country and how hard it has been to overcome traditional mind-sets of hunting administrations and hunters alike.
   Even though I am quite familiar with European blood tracking practices I found the book invaluable to bring the need for the humane treatment of wounded game animals to the attention of English speaking hunters.    The hunting and subsequent tracking situation in most of the US might differ markedly from ours, yet John Jeanneney’s advice detailed over 350 pages contains all the elements with which to train good tracking dogs for our style of deer hunting.   John and his wife breeds and uses German Wirehaired Dachshunds from original European hunting strains for all his tracking.    While the use of such dogs would inevitably raise eyebrows in this country his choice of this breed must be seen in the context of the US situation.     However, from my knowledge of this breed I can assure you that the only thing these little dogs lack to make them superb hunting dogs for New Zealand deer hunting are a few additional inches of leg bone.
   This short overview of “Tracking Dogs For Finding Wounded Deer” can only sketch the contents based on a lifetime of field experience by one of the founders of Deer Search.    This is a unique voluntary organisation dedicated to finding wounded deer that cannot be recovered by any other means.   The book features a good number of case studies, photographs and sketches, which support the comprehensive text.  
   The Jeanneneys have published the book themselves and are only selling it privately.    You can contact them via their website: www.born-to-track.com or via e-mail: info@born-to-track.com .    I highly recommend this book to anyone supporting ethical hunting by furthering his/her ability to recover wounded game.     
Herb Spannagl,
The Editor, New Zealand Outdoors, March 2007

After nearly 30 years of personal experience and investigating how others adapt tracking to their areas, John Jeanneney has written a book on the subject, Tracking Dogs for Finding Wounded Deer. Chapters 11 and 12 alone are worth the price, even for hunters with no interest in tracking dogs. They detail how not to be fooled about where the deer was hit.
     Take a broken leg. The hunter may say he found “pieces of rib” and lots of blood and conclude he made a chest shot. But Jeanneney asks whether the deer tried to run, fell once or twice and then took off on three legs. Is the blood bright, as with a flesh wound? Is it distributed in many small droplets? Are there bloody drag marks over branches or logs? With enough yes answers, Jeanneney knows this deer should be tracked quickly to keep it moving and bleeding. If the hunter waits to let it stiffen, the deer will stop. Blood will clot in the bone marrow, where much of the bleeding is happening. If the deer weakens no further, ending its suffering is unlikely.
     Jeanneney’s training skills are equally keen. He may start with liver drags, then drop occasional pieces beside the trail. The pup learns there are treats if he hugs the line. Jeanneney knows that later he’ll see more evidence and will understand more about the wounded deer when his dog doesn’t drift off and on the track.
Larry Mueller, Outdoor Life, June 2005

The abundant wealth of this book lies in what it can do for a hunter before he goes out hunting and wounds a deer. Once a deer has been wounded, Jeanneney’s suggestions become priceless for identifying wound sites and tracking approaches before making that call to a Deer Search volunteer handler. Chapters 12-14 alone would be worth the $24.95 price of this book. His description of body cavity wounds help to distinguish chest, leg, back, head, neck and muscle tissue hits. A better understanding of blood and hair traces left behind can make tracking – for the hunter and for the dog handler- easier, with better chances for a successful find.
Will Elliott, New York Outdoor News 2005

John Jeanneney’s new book, Tracking Dogs for Finding Wounded Deer, is truly a ground breaking volume that is long overdue and the first of its kind. It provides all the information hunters need to start using tracking dogs. It also includes details about what breeds to consider, how to select a dog and how to train hounds to locate dead deer. Even if you aren’t interested in getting a dog of your own, you can glean valuable information about recovering deer by sight tracking.
     Interest in tracking dogs has increased during recent years, and the practice is now legal in many states. This book should help fuel the fire that's already burning., hopefully resulting in the rapid spread and acceptance of using dogs to find wounded deer across North America. This book should be required reading by all state and provincial commissions and administrators who are responsible for setting regulations regarding the recovery of whitetails with dogs.
Richard P. Smith, Deer and Deer Hunting, October 2004

Whether you would like to add a tracking dog to your list of hunting equipment, or you would like to improve your own ability to choose effective shots and read the signs left by wounded deer, John Jean neney’s book will be a valuable addition to your hunting library. Throughout the chapters on wound types and their signs, John goes into detail on the indicators of every type of wound imaginable. His aim is to help prospective dog owners read these signs and determine the nature of the wound they are dealing with, information that will help them better understand their dog’s behavior and response. This information, however, is extremely useful to hunters who are tracking wounded deer without the aid of a dog.
Lindsay Thomas Jr
., Quality Whitetails, vol. 11, issue 1, 2004

This book speaks for itself in indicating that the author knows where he’s coming from; has “been there, done that” when it comes to hunting, tracking, dog training and breeding.
     Jeanneney’s favorite breed for blood tracking will surprise most sportsmen: the Dachshund, specifically the wirehaired variety out of hunting stock, which he breeds and trains himself. But what makes this book so valuable and interesting is his inclusion and excellent evaluation of the potential use of virtually all the gun dog breeds in recovering wounded and dead deer; from the well-known pointing, flushing, retrieving, versatile and hound breeds to virtually unknown Wachtelhunds, Jagdterriers and curs. Anyone who hunts deer with gun or bow, even if not a dog owner, will find the book worthwhile as an aid in “sign reading” so a hunter stands a better chance of finding what he’s hit, rather then moan about “the one that got away”. The insight and reasoning ability of the handler of a blood-tracking dog goes a long way in resulting in a successful quest, the man’s mind and the dog’s nose filling in alternate gaps each will encounter in following the line of a fleeing animal; a trained, keen-nosed dog and a savvy woodsman making up a successful team.
     Every hunter who has not been indoctrinated by an insightful veteran of long experience in the woods can shortcut his own learning time by absorbing the discussion in this book dealing with determining from blood, hair and physical reaction where and how hard a deer is hit. Whether undertaking the training of a blood-tracking game finder in order to make a multipurpose gun dog even more versatile or for personal success in recovering deer without the air of a dog, such woodscraft is an invaluable asset.
From the review by Dave Duffey, April/May 2004 issue of Gun Dog magazine  

There are some books which are a necessity for the bookshelf.  This is one of those books.  As someone who is in the process of training a dog for the following up of deer this book has proved extremely useful.  It has an easy to read style about it and the useful summary at the end of each chapter serves as a reinforcement of the items covered.  The book covers all aspects of using a dog; from breeds suitable for the task to equipment, techniques and wound identification from ground sign.  There is even a chapter on following up wounded bear.  As bow hunting is still legal in the States aspects of tracking which are peculiar to bow hunting are covered as well.  Whilst having a definite “American” flavour, this book contains much that will be of benefit to the European stalker.  As someone who does not speak German, until now many of the books on using a dog for finding wounded deer have been unavailable to me.  This book does much to redress the balance.  
     The author is someone who cares a great deal about the subject matter and this comes over clearly in the way he has written the book.  It is a book written by someone who has learnt through experience and written for those who are new to training dogs as well as for those who are more experienced.  The book contained areas with which I was already familiar as well as introducing new concepts or explaining areas in which I have had little or no experience eg. Following up wounded animals in snow.  

     I would advise anyone involved in deer mana
gement to obtain a copy of this book.  The chapters on wound identification are some of the best I have read.  The book covers shot reaction other than the classical “text book” reactions and prompts the stalker/manager to investigate the ground closely to confirm their original assumptions.  
    
I hope that this book encourages a few more deer managers/stalkers to have a trained dog upon which they can call should the need arise.  This may not happen very often, but when it does a trained dog can save many hours futile searching and will let you know whether you have a carcass to retrieve or the animal is missed cleanly. 
Guy Hagg, Deer-UK.com

Anyone who hunts deer or bear ought to read this book as it has much information about finding wounded game, as well as describing different breeds of dogs which are used for blood tracking. This is the first book written in English about bloodtracking wounded game. Most blood tracking books are written in Europe and there are few or no translations available. John has been tracking wounded deer with dachshunds for almost thirty years, plus he has researched the topic in America thoroughly, and he has European tests over there. This is not just a book about dachshunds, but about the need and usefulness of tracking wounded big game with dogs.
From the review by Teddy Moritz, December 2003 issue of Full Cry

Just received your book. About the best on the subject I have ever read in 40 years of shooting. 
GCW Baron van Tuyll, Vice-President of the Game Conservancy Trust, UK

I got the book this week.  It is all I hoped for and more. My friend is quite jealous and has now requested me to buy him a copy of your book too.     
R.J.
Coetzee, South Africa

It was very interesting for me to learn how blood-tracking of wounded game is done in your country. I think the book  should be translated in German as it could be helpfully for all hunters who work with tracking dogs even those who don’t hunt in foreign countries. 
Dr.
M. Sallmann, Germany

I have today received your book “ Tracking Dogs”. It is interesting and of highly professional standard.
Magne Klokset, chairman of the Norwegian Schweisshund Klubb

The book is spectacular. I have harvested over 50 Archery whitetails with a bow over the last 30 years and I can't begin to tell you how much I have learned from this book. I'm half way thru the book and I haven't found a single chapter that hasn't been a wealth of knowledge for me. This is a true primer for deer trackers. 
J. Monarte, New York

I have just finished John 's book. Without exaggeration, it is the only non-fiction book I recall reading that I didn't want to hurry to finish. Please let him know how absolutely excellent I think it is. I know you both put in an incredible amount of work with it and it really shows in the detail and in the passion found on every page. I am starting a lottery amongst my friends as to who gets to borrow it first. I'll encourage those with paying jobs to get their own. 
Donel
Buckmaster, Wisconsin

It is a must read for all trackers. John is not only one of the most knowledgeable trackers in America but he gives complete details in this wonderful book.
Ralph Castaneda, New York

Thanks so much for the book.  We have had hunters since I received it and last night I was finally able to start reading it.  It is a fascinating, very informative and much needed book.  Congratulations to you and Jolanta.  You did a great job and thank you for letting me be included in it. 
Roy Hindes III, Texas
 
Just a quick note to say thanks for writing the book and sharing your  knowledge on blood tracking. It has some outstanding information.  I have completed reading some of the chapters and find myself going back and rereading some sections to enhance the training of my half lab/half beagle. Have a Great Hunting and Tracking Season. 
R. McCollum,  Arkansas
 
I already have my copy of this book and am halfway through it. It is WONDERFUL!! It's a very flowing, conversational read that is chock full of information. Having done a small bit of bloodtracking with my Dachshunds, I had some ideas, but this book shows me that I was figuratively stumbling in the dark. 
DR Mack, Colorado

John 's book is by far the most comprehensive book on tracking and bloodtrailing I've been able to find. I recommend this book highly to anybody who's looking for information on training dogs, or who's ever owned a tracking dog. I can't possibly describe here all the subjects he covers in this fine book.
Cheryl Napper, Oklahoma

I'm almost through with your book John. Great job. It's well presented, informative & hard to put down. I don't feel insulted like some writers make you feel.
Tim Dykes, Alabama
 

The book has been invaluable.
Bruce Majors, Tennessee

I just got your book from my friend Dennis. I am very impressed. There is great pleasure to visit your Web site, excellent. I am a hunter and tracker and breeder of Bavarian Mountain Scenthound.
Wieslawa Jezewska, Poland

I have just finished John Jeanneney's book on tracking dogs and I would just like to say what a great read it was with lots of good information. It has helped me on the way to becoming a better tracker.
Wales, UK

I have been using some of the chapters on training from John's book in my puppy contract as a requirement to follow in order to have a successful tracking dachshund.  I think it's a great book!
Sian Kwa, North Carolina